Equestrian Connection Advertising Create an account Place an ad now

NHJC Medal Finals at the Capital Challenge Horse Show

Source :  USA Equestrian Inc.

Sunday, September 29, 2002, was devoted to the National Hunter Jumper Council equitation finals at the Capital Challenge Horse Show in Upper Marlboro, Maryland. The NHJC Junior Medal was the first event with eighty-three starters. Fourteen states were represented from seven zones of the NHJC and USA Equestrian as well as two riders who came from Canada to ride in the finals competition. California sent the largest contingent with twenty representatives. Next came Florida with ten riders and Connecticut with nine.

The NHJC Medal classes were held at horse shows around the country beginning in January, 2002. First and second place finishers in the NHJC classes qualified for the final ride-off. In addition, ribbon winners in each equitation age group at the Capital Challenge, not previously qualified,
were eligible to compete. Both classes were scored under the open numerical scoring system by a panel of five judges, and the scores were averaged. Mike Rheinheimer designed the course with eleven obstacles including two
combinations. The juniors competed at 3'6" while the amateurs jumped the same course at 3'3".

The top twenty came back for a second round. In the Junior Medal, Randy Sherman, winner of last year's USA / Pessoa & Millers Hunter Seat Equestrian Medal Finals in Harrisburg, PA, came back as the leader. He posted an impressive second round score of 92.9. The judges decided that no further
testing was necessary and pinned the class as follows:

Rider Hometown Trainer
1. Randy Sherman Pasadena, CA Susie Schroer
2. Courtney McKay Ocala, FL C. Schlusemeyer/B. Braswell
3. Charlie Jayne Elgin, IL Missy Clark/Alex Jayne
4. Erin Stewart Ocala, FL Bill Cooney/Don Stewart
5. Jamie Taylor Tarzana, CA Nick Karazissis
6. Katie Gardner West Lake Village, CA Jim Hagman/Karen Healey
7. Derek Braun Ocala, FL C. Schlusemeyer/B. Braswell
8. Lauren van Eldik Ocala, FL Bill Cooney/Susie Humes
9. Tedra Bates Carmel, CA Karen Healey
10. Jamie Duva Mendham, NJ Frank Madden

Sixteen amateur riders comprised the class for the inaugural NHJC Amateur Medal Finals. After the round two, the judges concluded once again that there was no need for further work, and they awarded ribbons to the top ten
as follows:

1. Valerie Germain New York, NY Valerie Germain
2. Tara S. Doherty Oviedo, FL Cindy McCullough
3. Gail Horrigan Camarillo, CA Jim Hagman
4. Wendy Israel New York, NY Val Renihan
5. Jennifer Champagne Troy, NY Patty Harnois
6. Elizabeth Craven Wellington, FL Jane Fennessy
7. Kristen Zeiss Perrysburg, OH Hunt Tosh
8. Tamara Fowkes Bergholz, OH Cindy McCullough
9. Meg Guilot Sewickley, PA Cindy McCullough
10. Becca Frank Pittsburgh, PA Anna Cafaro

Featured Ads
Join our Mailing List!
EC Tweets!

Follow us on
follow us on Facebook!   Follow EC on Twitter!