Equestrian Connection Advertising Create an account Place an ad now

Maggie Jayne Wins Hunter Seat Equitation Final

Source :  USA Equestrian Inc.

Maggie Jayne, 18, of Elgin, Illinois, defeated a field of 259 of the nation's top junior riders to win the 2002 USA/Pessoa National Hunter Seat Medal Final held Sunday, October 13, at the Pennsylvania National in Harrisburg, PA.

George Morris of Pittstown, NJ, and Kip Rosenthal of Brewster, NY, judged this year's championship. The championship was decided after three rounds of competition and judged on equitation, the rider's ability to ride their
horses with control, competency and compatibility.

The USA/Pessoa Hunter Seat Equitation Medal is a coveted USA Equestrian prize and proves to be a significant stepping-stone for international competitions as 30% of past winners have gone on to represent the U.S. internationally. This year over a thousand Hunter Seat Equitation Medal qualifying classes were held at USA Equestrian recognized horse shows through out the country, resulting in approximately 400 young riders qualifying for this event.

Maggie Jayne adds her name to the Adrian Van Sinderen Memorial Trophy, joining famous winners from the past including Victor Hugo-Vidal, George Morris and Katie Monahan-Prudent. This year's winner received a special
keeper trophy, a Triple Crown Custom horse cooler, a Pessoa saddle and a Mountain Horse Classic Rider Jacket.

1. Maggie Jayne, Elgin, IL
2. Katie Gardner, Westlake Village, CA
3. Derek Braun, Ocala, FL
4. Kathryn Volk, Blissfield, MI
5. Allison LaJoie, Laguna, CA
6. Lara Gay, Ridgefield, CT
7. Katelyn Denby, Somers, CT
8. Michael R. Morrissey, Bradenton, FL
9. Clara Linder, Cincinnati, OH
10. Whitney Hollinger, Medfield, MA
11. Kate Landau, Purchase, NY

Featured Ads
Join our Mailing List!
EC Tweets!

Follow us on
follow us on Facebook!   Follow EC on Twitter!