Equestrian Connection Advertising Create an account Place an ad now

Morrissey Wins 2002 BET/USA National Junior Jumper Championship

Source :  USA Equestrian Inc.

Michael Morrissey, 17, of Bradenton, Florida, and his mount Gera 28 (Holsteiner: Calando I De x Larsa), were victorious in the 2002 BET/USA Individual National Junior Jumper Championships at the Pennsylvania National Horse Show. The Individual Champion was named after completion of three phases held October 10th through 12th.

Morrissey and Gera 28 finished ahead of 16-year-old Randy Sherman of Pasadena, CA, and his mount Caldero (Thoroughbred). Andrew Ramsay, 17, of Oakland, CA, and his mount Lisa (Dutch Warmblood), finished in third.

The BET/USA Prix de States Team Championship title was decided on October 12 with Zone 4 (AL, FL, GA, MS, SC, TN) taking the top spot. The winning team was made up of Michael Morrissey of Bradenton, FL, riding Gera 28, Jennifer
Urioste of Wellington, FL, riding Casanova (Unknown), Erin Stewart of Ocala, FL, riding Karat (American Sport Horse: Artos x Riviera Z) and Derek Braun of Ocala, FL, riding Mandella (Unknown).

Second place in this USA Junior Olympic - Equestrian Event went to the Zone 2 (NY, PA, NJ) team made up of Danielle Goldstein of New York, NY, riding Hendrix (Unknown), Kristy McCormack riding Marga (Dutch Warmblood: Hemmingway x Herrina), Meghan Moran of Malvern, PA, riding Z Max (Dutch
Warmblood) and Krista Freundlich of Locust, NJ, riding Laurin (Belgin Warmblood).

The Zone 10 (CA, NV) team, made up of Randy Sherman of Pasadena, CA, riding Caldero (Thoroughbred), Jamie Taylor of Tarzana, CA, riding Elmo, Shelby Walter of Beverly Hills, CA, riding Xstatic (Hanoverian) and Andrew Ramsay
of Oakland, CA, riding Lisa (Dutch Warmblood), finished in third.

The BET/USA National Junior Jumper Championships is considered a USA Junior Olympic - Equestrian Event and, as such, the top three teams received Gold, Silver and Bronze Junior Olympic medals. The name of the winning team is
inscribed on the Frances Newbill Rowe Memorial Trophy, named in honor of the top jumper trainer of the 1960's and 1970's. Winning team riders winner were awarded keeper trophies and both the team and the individual winner
received Triple Crown Custom awards blankets.

Featured Ads
Join our Mailing List!
EC Tweets!

Follow us on
follow us on Facebook!   Follow EC on Twitter!